How High Can You Count?

Sometimes I feel like I can’t count higher than 10. Growing up I was a dancer. Ballet, jazz, tap, hip hop and African. African was amazing b/c it as so free and there were live drummers. Fantastic! Anyway, in dance you generally count to 8 and repeat. You may add in an “and a”, but that’s it. I noticed the other night when watching the hockey team we help, play their game, I only count up to 5. So, now my counting is getting even lower. Since I’m the trainer for the team, I’m always counting to make sure I see 5 players standing when on the ice. If they aren’t standing, that means they may be hurt and may need my help. Ok, getting even stranger…we ate at 5 Guys Burgers and Fries. Even restaurants don’t count higher than 5. Wanna guess how many workers were there?…..You got it–5! By the way, first time at this place and I had the most amazing grilled veggie sandwich!

This got me thinking about how much of our brains we don’t use. Or maybe we do. See, I may not use numbers, a lot or math, but I use my knowledge in other areas. We learn so many things in school and basically in my opinion, it just lays the base for where we want to focus our attention. Some use this knowledge to be doctors, scientists, accountants, teachers, etc. I use mine for socialization in real estate (people skills), healthy eating, dog training. We all have skills and we use them in the areas we are most interested.

No matter where you choose to focus your attention, do it and do it well. There’s no need to feel like you are less b/c you didn’t choose one thing over another. It takes just as much skill and thought to use the more “artsy” side of ourselves than to use the perceived “business” side. I used to wonder what my career would be b/c I was more drawn to what most see as hobby than career. Now, I sell real estate, but I continue w/ my hobby jobs and love them. I train dogs, teach exercise and nutrition (hope to get back in to both of these soon) and dance. The dancing tends to stay in private or at weddings. You can’t help but dance at weddings.

My whole thought has changed. I think there is a need for every choice of career. If you are passionate about something you are doing, you will be good at it and there will be a need for it. People want to trust and if you are skilled at what you are doing, they will trust you. Your love for what you are doing will ooze out of you. Use what you have and turn it into your life, your career. Don’t let anything stop you. So, the fact that I don’t count higher than 10 in my every normal day doesn’t matter. I’m doing things I love w/ people I love and that is the best feeling in life.

Thought I’d leave you w/ one of my favorite vines in our back yard. It was green all summer, but is now turning beautiful shades of red, purple–all the colors of fall.

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

Leave a Reply

