Enjoying the Gems in Life!

After a long day of real estate w/ some ups and downs, MG made a fantastic dinner followed up w/ a great suggestion. He wanting to change-up our exercise regimen and go for a rollerblade down by the water. Magnificent idea! We haven’t been rollerblading for a while. We both enjoy it, but when we had our dogs, we wanted to include them and rollerblading was a bit too fast for them to go. So, off to the water we went. It was so nice. Imagine–water to the side of us, others out for a stroll, bike, run, you name it. Dogs and kids everywhere. Nice, breezy day, about 80F. This was a great way to unwind. Got a few blisters, but that’s ok, just shows the hard work. We went for almost an hour and around 6.5 miles. Just perfect!

We try to spend as much time as possible outside enjoying the summer while we have it. I have to quietly admit that I’m über excited about the approaching fall weather and sites. I just love all the colors as the leaves change, the crispness in the air and the holidays around the corner. But, until then, we will get out, get our Vitamin D and enjoy nature. Nature is all around us where we live.

For instance, the next night, we went to another free course at our local health food store. Colin De France was the speaker and did an excellent job. I got a lot out of what he had to say. He discussed changing up workouts and how to eat healthier. One of his main topics was how stress, worry, lack of sleep can all really affect our health. He discussed a very interesting topic that really stuck w/ me. He said to treat every person as if they were a Zen Master. What this means is that every time someone does something you don’t like (cut you off in the car, honk the horn, anything not nice), rather than get angry, stop and think–maybe they are here to teach me a lesson. So true! It actually works really well. I had a real estate appointment and the buyer was 30mins late. No call. No anything…just late. I was pretty annoyed and turned it around. Maybe this person was teaching me patience. I got to catch up w/ my seller, get a coffee across the street and still wasn’t late for my next appointment. My Ah-Ha! moment. Believe it or not, I went from really irritated to very cordial in a matter of moments. He taught me patience, he taught me to control my emotions. So vital. It is not good to get angry, mad, frustrated. It really hurts our overall health. I have too much of a tendency to let my emotions build up too quickly. I was pleasantly surprised at how well this worked. Give it a try. See if you can reduce a little stress in your life. Let others teach you w/o them even knowing it.

Afterwards, we went to another park to walk around and enjoy a coffee. In looking at these pics, it is hard to believe that this is just a 10 mins drive from my house. It feels like a vacation area. Just lovely. Enjoy the views and try treating others as if they are a Zen Master. If that doesn’t work try getting outside. Be out amongst others, nature, sites–you always feel better. Just going for a walk really helps reduce stress, anxiety, frustrations and your burning a few calories at the same time. Try to find some nice, overlooked places around you. Like where we are in this pic–most take it for granted. Most are in too much of a hurry to realize the beauty here. Slow down, take it in and enjoy the views. Find a new hidden gem around you and enjoy it!

 

 

 

 

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 11:01:02

    Thank you for this wonderful tip: “Treat everyone as if they are a Zen Master and that they have a lesson to teach you”…this is really ringing true for me and I can already see thoughts bubbling up that were frustration that now feel more like calm and acceptance.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Inspiring Life--Inspiring YOU!
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 16:08:25

    Yes, it really helps. If nothing else, it at least keeps the stress out of your life, making you healthier and happier. Thanks for reading.
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

