Pride In Trying!

I am very competitive and really enjoy winning. Yes, probably like the rest of the world. Difference is I see the competition in everything and constantly have to remind myself to not take things so seriously. Well, today I learned that winning is not everything.

As most of you have read, there is a local jewelry store that I love–Bluboho! They had a competition to win matching best friend Chan Luu wrap bracelets. I instantly thought of my best friend from NC. She and I have been best friends since we were 4yrs old. We basically have the same name, only 2 wks apart in age and share everything. We are each others yin and yang. We are always there for one another even though I now live 12 hrs away. It doesn’t affect our friendship. Of course, it would be nice if we could see each other more, go for lunch, coffee, whatever. Point is that after all these years she knows me better than anyone, we pick up where we left off and nothing changes.

Anyway, as soon as I saw this giveaway, I was immediately writing in. I am not even on facebook, but I wanted to win.

We did not win, but I realized how important our friendship is to me. No matter win or lose, getting something meaningful for her was my top priority. This is when I learned that winning is not everything. I learned a lot about how much I value our friendship and how instantaneous of a thought it was for me to get something for her. The paragraph I wrote about our friendship just flowed out. It was so simple. She is an amazing friend, mother and the list goes on. Thank you for everything and for putting up w/ me for all these years. I’ll never forget it.

We should always remember what is near and dear to us and don’t be afraid to show it. I don’t show it enough, but I know what is important when it is the first thing on my mind. Don’t lose touch of your friends, your importance and what makes you YOU! Do be afraid to lose in any competition! Just kidding, but it is important to me!

 

 

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

Leave a Reply

