Ride To Conquer Cancer!

On Sunday, MG and I went for our usual morning jog. Or at least we thought we were. Once we hit the main street overlooking the escarpment, we saw bike after bike going by. We had seen on the news and read about the bike riders going from Toronto to Niagara for the Ride to Conquer Cancer. This is an amazing charity. This year 4,610 participants raised $17.5 million for Princess Margaret for cancer research. Cancer will touch most everyone’s life in some way. It is especially near to my heart this year due to my mother’s mastectomy. The fear that is evoked from the word “cancer” is extreme. I have never felt so speechless when I heard that word from the doctor about my mother. You just go blank and numb. I can only imagine how she felt. In fact, I don’t think we have talked about how she felt at that moment. The good news is that she is cancer free now.

Back to the Ride to Conquer Cancer is that these magnificent people do this ride to raise money for cancer research to try to find a cure for this terrible disease. As we were jogging, we saw the multitudes of bikes going by and we felt the need to follow in behind them. My jog never felt so good. As we were running amongst these riders it felt so invigorating. We ran faster and w/ such inspiration. It was intriguing to me at the strength just running w/ these bikers gave me. I made it in my best time, I felt so good running and all b/c I was just thinking the whole time about how great these other people were. This time my jog was not about me. Not trying to push myself, beat my times, whatever. It was about others and how strong they were, I was too busy admiring what they were doing. Great job to all of you that participated and to all the volunteers that help make this happen.

I realized how hard these bikers were working to help all of us. Most of the riders have had cancer or were riding in memory of someone in their life who had cancer. Most importantly is that they were pushing their bodies very hard to do something that will benefit everyone. I write and I try to do things for others in my everyday life. We should all try to help others. It feels good and makes us all happier, better people. It doesn’t have to be to an extreme. As I’ve said before, hold the door for someone, give a nice complement, by a coffee for someone. Just make a difference. As small as some of these examples are, you will make someone else’s day better. When people are happy, we have less problems. Problems meaning violence, anger, depression, etc. Sometimes a kind gesture can do more good than you realize. We don’t know what others are going through. Life goes on no matter how bad of a day, month, year we are having. We are still expected to go to our jobs w/ a smile on our face, go about our days as though nothing is wrong. If you are having a rough time in life, sometimes the tiniest act of kindness can make everything seem just a bit better. Sometimes putting a smile on someone else’s face, even if the smile only lasts a minute, can change the course of the entire day. And guess what, doing something kind for someone else will actually put a smile on your face. That’s winning all around.  Just something to think about. Give it a try, see how you feel. Bet if you do something nice for someone else once, you will be addicted to it.

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JWill
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 21:43:43

    Suzanne,
    Enjoyed the website. Very interesting. Your house looks amazing. Love ya, Mom

    Like

    Reply

  2. Inspiring Life--Inspiring YOU!
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 21:55:31

    I’m glad you are enjoying and reading. Funny how many of my readers e-mailed me about getting home to see you. Guess I write about you a lot more than I realize. Can’t wait for you to see my house in person.
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kristy
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 18:25:38

    WOW! what a beautiful place to run! And what an awesome thing to witness. I started running last year for the American Cancer Society, and I hope to make it a yearly tradition. My father-in-law and aunt are both battling a cancer that won’t go away. It’s so motivating!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Inspiring Life--Inspiring YOU!
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 00:01:09

    I know, cancer is extremely scary and seems to be a part of everyone’s life in some way. I like the idea of the tradition. I decided last October on a haunted 10km trail run at night that raises money for cancer. I did it, loved it, everyone dresses up (it is for Halloween) and big party after. Plus, lots of money for cancer. Keep up your tradition and congrats.
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

