HcG Levels, Dentist–I’m Tired!

First, I have my own hockey game tonight, then rush back to see game 7 of the Stanley Cup finals. Both the Boston Bruins and the Vancouver Canucks have played an amazing series. So excited! Hoping Vancouver wins the cup!

Well, this was my first time going one whole month without getting my blood work done to check for my HcG levels. I was a bit nervous for this one only because it seems like forever since I had my levels checked. Imagine going weekly for months, then every other week, now monthly. As happy as I am to not have to get a needle every week, it is nerve-wracking for the first monthly check. Anyway, here’s the results…my HcG levels are still negative (less than one). I am so happy, relieved and thankful. Thank you God!

Next, I went to the dentist. I don’t know anyone that enjoys the dentist. I had to get some cavities filled (tiny ones), but they feel the same and get the same huge needle as big cavities. Anyway, I didn’t have too long to worry b/c this appointment was scheduled for August 22nd, but there was a cancellation. They called to see if I wanted to come in and I said absolutely! I’ve got several different cavity filling appointments this summer b/c they don’t want to do more than one section at a time. So, to get one of these appointments out-of-the-way early was perfect!

Like I said, it has been a while since having “real” work done. I’ve had cleanings, but this is very different. I was feeling very strong until….until I sat in the chair. What is it? What causes this instant full body, nervousness? I don’t know, but right away, palms got über sweaty, heart racing, feet were twitching. The dentist discussed what we’d do today, how I’d feel and what to expect. Then, the needles…oh the needles. I got about 3 of them. Huge needles. I didn’t feel one, not one of them! My nerves settled, but I felt so shaky, heart thumping out of my chest. After five minutes, I settled. I asked and the reason was the numbing solution contains epinephrine (adrenaline). This makes you shaky, heart race, etc. Well, we got all done, but one and it was too sensitive. I have to add an appointment to repair that one. Come to find out, I am one of the less than 5% population that has a nerve running to several spots, not just one. Therefore, this localized numbing won’t and wasn’t working. New appointment will contain heavier numbing. Pic right after I got out of the chair and you may be able to see how swollen my right cheek and lower lip are. It felt like my right jaw gained 3 pounds. After 2 hours, my face got feeling back, I could have coffee and eat. Yeah!

So, my body is tired. The nerves for the needle in my arm and waiting for my HcG level results and then the crazy nerves for the dentist. Well, I made it through everything and my smile is a bit better. Take care of your teeth. Very important!

At least I was able to get in my 5mile (8km) jog this morning w/ 400 stairs. This was my day saver. My morning exercise gave me the stamina to get through this day. Two of my most disliked events–needle in arm & needleS in mouth. Yuk! Oh well, it is over for now. I also made myself a delish lunch. It was Sourdough Kamut bread toasted w/ Veganaise (Vegan Mayo), cucumber, tomato and avocado. Ooooohhh, that was so good and not too heavy. I also had a Vega Whole Health Optimizer protein shake.

So, I made it through and I’m glad I did. It will be worth it. The other good part is that my right jaw is still pretty sore, so I can’t open it too wide. This means less food goes in. This also means MG doesn’t have to hear me talk as much. I love to talk. It is a win-win!

To top off the night, I went to my happy place. Outside to search the web on my new Asus tablet in my cabana w/ the TV on. Oh, and a coffee. Hallelujah!

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 08:52:11

    I hate the dentist!!! I always get that feeling when I sit in the chair too.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Inspiring Life--Inspiring YOU!
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 10:20:02

    Yes, weird how your mind overcomes you. I can tell myslef over and over that all is ok, but your body and mind just knows. Thanks for reading.
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

