Eating For Longer Life!

Started our day off early, it is about 61F now w/ a high of 91F. Hot, Hot, but a little cooler than the last two days. MG and I took my mom’s Lab for a 2.5 mile hike this morning. Then, we met mom to go to the dog park. This place is always packed w/ happy people and playful dogs. We have a great time there, my mom especially. She is very social and we always tease her about holding the chat. It seems that while the dogs play, my mom always ends up w/ all the humans around talking to her. I just stand back and let her have her time. I think it is adorable. Also, it is amazing how watching all the dogs run and play puts a big smile on everyone’s face. I smile the whole time, but why? I don’t know, but it is a very happy place.

Next, was another training session from MG at the local ice rink. We skated for a solid, hard, tiring hour. He works me very hard, which is why I don’t go for a jog in the morning. He works on my skating (very tiring), then puck work (mental and arm strength) & shooting (shoulders and obliques). Wow, he is a great teacher and pretty patient w/ me as a student. Most important–I always see huge results in my games after he has taken me for a learning session.

We ended our day by going to see some of Matt’s dear friends, which have become very special people to me as well. They are the kindest, most down to earth couple I’ve ever met. They live on 130 acres farm and have cattle, dogs, horses, goats and cats. Most are rescued and will live their life on a farm until they die naturally. In saying this, they both enjoyed meat, but especially the husband. We always go out for dinner w/ them and he gets a huge steak. Well, while sitting at their house catching up before we all headed for dinner, they announced to us that they went Vegan. What? Them…Vegan!? I’m thrilled. They decided 4months ago to take the plunge, to quit all meat, dairy and animal products, cold turkey. Not a pun. Just, wham! no more anything. Best of all, they have never felt better. They both have lost weight, have more energy, sleep better, overall just way better.

We began to discuss their reasoning. It was simple and very similar to my story. They just stated they wanted to live longer, healthier lives. This post is not meant to offend any of you meat eaters. I truly feel everyone should do what makes them feel their best, what you are happy doing. I would never tell anyone to stop doing anything. We are all adults and make our own decisions. What I do want to accomplish is giving other input. I want all of us to make our decisions w/ knowledge. Maybe by reading this, we all will do our own research, look in to things a little deeper and make lifestyle changes that will help you lead a longer, healthier life, free of pharmaceutical drugs.

Anyway, back to their story. Her 92 yr old mother has Alzheimer’s. She was upset, not just for the obvious reasons, but b/c her mother is extremely healthy and could live to 102. Also, they both have had some health ailments. In doing her research, she realized that there are a lot of steroids, antibiotics, etc in meat and dairy now. Unfortunately, all these drugs make the cows bigger, the milk creamier, etc, but in turn is giving us serious health issues. This is similar to me. Once my grandfather and my dog died, both of lung cancer, plus seeing all the health issues–cancer, heart problems, diabetes, allergies, kids w/ serious issues, I started to research. I found the same things as our friends we’re discussing. When I was growing up and I’m not very old–it would have been crazy for a school to NOT allow peanut butter. Now, it feels like kids have so many allergies. Why is this? I don’t know 100%, but I do know that w/ all the data out there, in my opinion, meat and dairy are the major factors. So, good for our friends. They look great, feel great. They say that life isn’t even that much more difficult. They still eat out, just adjust the menu to suit them. They make a lot of fantastic meals at home. Overall, it was a wise choice for them and for me. Anything new at first is difficult b/c you have to learn how to do things differently. After a while, it becomes 2nd nature and is just as easy (if not more easy) to eat healthy than it was to not eat healthy.

In saying this, we went to Elizabeth’s Pizza, had a magnificent dinner, some more great conversations and an overall nice night. I wish them the best at their new way of life, I love it and I’m sure they will. Life is short so make the most of it and try to make it longer.

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JWill
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 18:55:10

    Enjoyed the blogs, Suzanne. Wish you and MG were still here. It was sooo much fun going for walks. It is always so lonesome when you leave. Hope to see you again soon. Love, Me

    Like

    Reply

  2. Inspiring Life--Inspiring YOU!
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 19:25:21

    We miss being there w/ you to go for walks. Can’t wait for you to come to visit me in Canada. I would love to help you w/ not eating meat. Loads of yummy recipes. Love you and talk to you soon.
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

