Pick Up Where We Left Off!

Another wonderful day in North Carolina. Getting very hot–about 92F. MG and I got to go for a 2.5mile hike through the hills and forest. Afterwards we met up w/ my mother and took her dogs to the dog park. There were a lot of people and dogs there. It is so nice b/c everyone there has a smile on their face. Somehow dog owners get a smile just watching their dogs run and have tons of fun. Loads of great conversations occur at the dog park. We met a couple that had a few huskies. All of their dogs (3 of them) were from the shelter or the husky rescue. One of the dogs was going to be put to sleep as a puppy b/c it had a crooked tail and a broken back. This couple took on the challenge, got the back surgery and fully rehabbed the pup. Today I watched this dog run, play & have so much fun. Barely notice that anything was wrong. I find something special w/ people who can take in dogs and give them amazing lives when moments before they were on the brink of being put to sleep. Not getting to experience the wonderful life they are leading at their new home. Thank you to all of you w/ gigantic hearts, open minds and caring patience to help these beautiful creatures who only deserve the best.

Then, off to have a delicious breakfast and coffee on our normal patio. Everyone that works here knows us very well and every time we come for a visit we always catch up. I couldn’t even tell you any of their names, but I know each of them. MG and I went to the Ice House for an hour skate. This is great exercise and free coaching from one of the best. I’m very lucky for his patience and teachings.

Finally, we showed up to a cookout at my best friend’s house. I was so excited. Looking at all the pics–we are quite the colorful bunch, eh? Her little boy is almost 3yrs, full of energy and personality and she just got a new boxer (10mos old) who I can’t wait to meet. She also rescued this dog from a guy that was moving and couldn’t take the dog. He was going to turn him in to the shelter. She really missed having a dog while she was doing the heart and stroke walk/run here.

Boy, did we all have an amazing time. Veggie burgers, zucchini, asparagus, fruit and dip, just a whole lotta yumminess! It was nice of her to have us all to her house and super nice for MG to grill up all this delicious food. He did an awesome job!  I kept thinking to myself how phenomenal it is that I have such fantastic friends that we just pick up where we left off. I talk to all them in between visits, but some we don’t call each other as much. Either way, it is like I live here every day and we never left each other. How is this? It just blows my mind. Thank you b/c I am lucky to have you in my life and you make every day so special!

There is one big lesson I took from all of this. In the search of something new, don’t forget the old. What I mean is that I am always looking for friends and people that I connect w/ in Canada. What I can never forget is that I have the most amazing people already in my life in NC. We tend to take for granted what we know will always be there  and focus our attention on building the new relationships. We have to spend as much if not more time on the relationships we already have. Never assume they will alwyas be there. Work just as hard at your older friendships as you do on making your new ones. Nothing in life is a given. Every day is a gift, that is why it is called the present. Please don’t take anyone or anything for granted, we are not guaranteed anything in life. Thanks for listening.

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

Leave a Reply

