Hot or Cold Beverages?

It has been pretty hot lately, but I still love my hot coffee. Don’t get me wrong, if my diet has been really good, sometimes I will splurge on a frappuccino. Someone asked me how I could drink a hot beverage on a really hot day? Weird, why did I want something hot when I was already so hot?

Well, of course I did some googling to figure this out.  Here’s what I’ve come up w/ and let me know your thoughts.

It’s nice to have a cup of cold drink after a meal. However, the cold water will solidify the oily stuff that you have just consumed. It will slow down the digestion. Once this ‘sludge’ reacts with the acid, it will break down and be absorbed by the intestine faster than the solid food. It will line the intestine. Very soon, this will turn into fats and lead to cancer. It is best to drink hot soup or warm water after a meal, says Michelle King Robson. Although, several other sites state that this is an urban myth and is not true. What I have heard is that the Chinese always have a hot tea after meal. The Chinese are supposed to be healthy people and always have valuable info on eating and healthy lifestyles. I also know that when I lived in Italy they would have some large meals that fill you up. Afterwards, they always had a hot espresso to melt everything down. I have tried this and it really does help. This is just an espresso, no fancy, sugar laden, milky, heavy coffee drinks.

Next, should we or should we not have a hot beverage on a hot day?  When someone drinks a hot beverage, the body
temperature goes lower to handle the hot beverage. The end result is that your body feels cooler on a hot day. On the other hand, when a person drinks a cold beverage, that the body temperature goes higher to handle the cold
beverage which makes the person feel hotter on a hot day. Another website, Wise Geek, stated some doctors suggest that room temperature or body temperature water is better than cold water, because the body has to expend energy to heat cold water to body temperature, resulting in some water loss. On the other hand, some doctors say that after physical exertion, you should drink cold water since it will help cool the body more effectively than room temperature water.

Well, I certainly haven’t solved the Pyramids, but I hope I’ve given you a bit of extra knowledge. I think I will continue to have a hot drink on a hot day. I will keep drinking a hot espresso after a large, heavy meal. I don’t really enjoy really cold water, so I will keep on going w/ my slightly above room temperature water. So, I hope if I haven’t answered the question fully, I’ve at least given you something to think about.

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

Leave a Reply

