Long Weekend In Canada!

Happy Victoria Day to all my Canadian friends. It has been an amazing long weekend so far. I always prefer to write my posts at night, but since I haven’t posted anything in a few days, I’m doing it early. The last 2 days have been beautiful. Friday and Saturday were all sun around 80F.  We were able to mix real estate w/ fun. Either way we have spent the last 2 days outside, so no time to use my computer. It is so nice to see everyone getting out and enjoying themselves. The streets, trails were all full of people. I love seeing others get out for a walk, jog, play, whatever. The street I live on was busy. The kids were out playing hockey, riding bikes & we got to catch up w/ our neighbors. We aren’t the type that have street parties or go over to our neighbors to drink, but we enjoy all of them. So, when we are outside, which hasn’t been in a while due to the winter, we love to hear about what everyone has been up to.

This table was a welcomed site these last couple of days. I learned yesterday that I still can’t work out in the heat. I have never been good at the heat. Weather over 80F (with the sun out it was over 80F) doesn’t suit me unless I’m swimming. Otherwise, I prefer 75 and under. We decided between real estate appointments yesterday around noon to go for a longish jog (8km or 5miles). Problem, it was hot–for me–about 80F all sun. Boy was that a struggle. I will start getting up early to do my workouts. Like today, we got up early and did the 300 stairs (220 ft up and down the escarpment) six times. Then, we did yoga. Great way to start our morning before open houses, home inspections and paperwork. I need to get my workouts in to make my days great!

MG and I can’t believe how amazing our landscaping looks this year. We keep commenting that at this time last year, we had NO landscaping. We started mid June &  didn’t finish until September. It is so nice to have it all done this year already and everything is already bigger and healthier than last year. MG and I set up this little nook on our front lawn as a getaway.  We have a full patio, table, fountain in the back, but sometimes it is nice to sit out front and be social. Here we can watch the kids have fun on the street, talk to neighbors and best of all, see all the animals. Our bird feeder is just on the other side of MG. I can sit there for hours & watch the multitudes of birds, squirrels, chipmunks that come to this feeder. They somewhat trust us too. I don’t want them to be too friendly, but it is nice that they will come and eat w/ us only 3ft away. Thank goodness we got all of this landscaping done. We play in the outdoors all the time. Can’t stand just sitting inside. Now we can relax outside as well.

Speaking of trust. Trust is a funny thing. We all have it, but at different levels. I think I’m sord of like the animals I watch. They stay back, figure us out, come a little closer, observe again, get closer and the cycle continues until they either are comfortable or get scared away. I have always been the type to sit back and observe until I feel comfortable. I am very social and outgoing, but most people don’t really get to know me quickly. I am a very different person w/ new people than w/ people I know. Meaning, I am quiet and in the background at first, but once I know who I’m around, I love to laugh, be silly, etc. I really enjoy just figuring out my surroundings and what people are like before I let myself be free. I don’t “trust” easy. Once I do trust someone, it is full. Unfortunately, since I take a while to trust, if that trust is broken, I can’t get it back. Strange. I know some people who trust quickly, they trust everyone and have no problem forgiving and moving on. I can’t. Is it a fault? Maybe. It just is what it is. If I trust you and it is broken, it is gone. Once that trust is there, it is amazing. How nice is it to have a friend that you can tell everything to and know it is going nowhere. It is an indescribable feeling to have that deep of a connection w/ someone. I feel sad for those who don’t have that w/ anyone and for those that have trust in everyone. I think trust needs to be earned, worked for. I don’t mind working to earn someone’s trust. If you work hard for it, the chances of messing it up are slimmer. Difference between me and the animals, once I’m scared off, I don’t come back around. I can forgive, but I can’t forget. I don’t believe in holding harsh feelings towards others, but in saying that, I don’t forget. It is ok to work for trust and to ask that others work for your trust.

Funny that I’m in real estate. This is a business where your clients have to have the utmost trust in you! They have to know that we are being fair and honest in every situation. They have to trust that we know what we are doing, working for their best interest and getting them what they want. I think that is why we deal as a referral based business. We don’t advertise ourselves very much. 95% of our business comes from the referrals of past, happy clients. Therefore, there is a bit of trust from the start. The new client trusts their friend/family and therefore trust us. Of course, we have to prove ourselves to everyone, but I enjoy that there is already a level of trust from the start. Plus, I feel that you work harder b/c if someone trusts you enough to refer you; you had better be good and do a good job. Their name is on the line for passing on your name. Get it?

I would love to hear how you guys feel about trust. Do you trust easy or does it take a while? Are you able to trust again once someone has broken it?

Well, I’m off to get some work done!  Make the most of every day and think about what I’ve written. I’d love to see some comments from all of you.

 

 

 

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Wheatley
    May 24, 2011 @ 13:38:40

    Hiya! Hope all is going well for you! So glad you got a nice bit of weather up there for the long weekend!!! A little bit of good news today:
    5/9/2011: HCG 200,000+
    5/23/2011: HCG 698
    And thyroid levels back to normal as well . . . fingers are officially crossed for next week’s results!

    Like

    Reply

  2. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    May 24, 2011 @ 16:37:16

    So true! it was a great long weekend! Thank you.
    I am so very excited for you. You’re levels seem to be dropping very well. Can’t wait to hear about next week’s. Please keep me updated. I love hearing the good news!
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

