Fall Down, Get Up, Learn From It!

I had a really nice comment on my post yesterday re: magnesium. I was talking about needing more magnesium to help w/ many things, especially fatigue. Stephanie from http://creating-a-life.blogspot.com/ passed along a very informative link on how taking a bath w/ Epsom salt helps in many ways, but is a magnesium compound and helps increase magnesium. Take a look at the link she passed along–love it and will be trying this out–http://health.howstuffworks.com/skin-care/problems/treating/epsom-salt-baths.htm. Thanks, Stephanie.

Still doing pretty good w/ my spring clean. Had some eggs w/ small slice of toast, coffee, apple, vega protein shake, coffee and for dinner MG made some grilled veggies w/ a delicious, new, homemade vinaigrette. Yummy! What a plate of veggies. We did a nice workout today as well. I did Jillian Michael’s Shred It video using a kettlebell. Boy is that hard.

Well, tonight was our first summer hockey women’s game. It is always a lot of fun! The crazy thing is that I just started at this time last year. MG taught me to skate on his parent’s pond last winter. Until my first game last year, I had never picked up a hockey stick or shot a puck. This is a very difficult sport to pick up. See, if you start playing frisbee, soccer, running, yoga, whatever, it is difficult, but chances are you know how to use your own feet. For  me w/ hockey, it all brand new. You gotta put the skating w/ checking, hitting boards, being in position, shooting while balancing on a tiny blade….get where I’m going? Oh and my first fall, well, I flapped around like a beached whale. How the hell do you get up? But you do, you always get up. Similar to life. Things knock you down and you have to figure out how to get back up. Get on your feet. Start again and try to do it better this time around. Guess what? Even if you fall again, it is ok. You just have to learn from every fall.

Back to hockey. I am the weakest link on my team. I like this. You put me on a soccer field and I ooze of confidence, I’m good. Put me on ice and I don’t ooze of anything, but a lot of sweat and learning. What I have done is learn to surround myself w/ good players. Believe it or not, I’m sponsoring the team and myself and one of my friends (I wrote about her in an earlier post–she got me in to playing hockey) picked the girls to invite on to our team. Well, I’m so happy w/ our choices. We played really well tonight. I’ve learned that if you can’t be the best, surround yourself w/ the best. This way you learn, get help and they make me look better. I’ve already improved a lot for only playing one year and these girls push me to be better. We had a lot of fun, then we always go up for a few drinks and laughs after. Great girls! So happy to be back together. Afterwards it is time to air out the equipment. Phewy!!!

I even rewarded myself w/ a kiddie sized ice cream after. Phenomenal. The kiddie size is very small. Perfect for having a taste and satisfying that need, but not overdoing it.

In the end, it is good that I can laugh at myself. It helps to ease the pressure. Nonetheless, I’m not the best, I look hilarious when I fall, but I keep returning every week to give it my best and to get better. I don’t give up and I never will!

 

 

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    May 19, 2011 @ 09:32:00

    So glad you found the link helpful! 🙂 Ok, I am like super impressed (You Rock) that you are playing girls hockey, but even more impressed that you just learned to skate! My husband was an avid inline skater and tried to teach me but it is the fear of falling that holds me back. I am worried about busting my teeth or breaking something. How did you get past this?

    Like

    Reply

  2. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    May 19, 2011 @ 16:14:30

    I’m not totally past the falling, but I’ve fallen a few times and it didn’t hurt that bad. It’s just living life and knowing how far to push it, but you can’t be fearful or you end up living in a bubble. Just like flying–not my thing, but I wouldn’t have gone to Italy, Mexico, etc if I let that bother me. Just do it! Know your limits, get the right equipment, start slow & have fun. Let me know how it goes. Good luck.
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

