My HcG Levels are Negative–Just One of the Things To Smile About!

I had my bloodwork done on Friday the 13th, which made me a little uneasy. I got the call today from the wonderful staff at the Juravanski Cancer Centre that my HcG levels are still negative. This means I progress to only getting my blood tested once monthly for the next 5 months. Yeah!!! This was amazing news. Also, I am so happy to have people writing me about my experience w/ molar pregnancy. I started this blog w/ only this in mind. I wanted to help others and give a voice to this type of pregnancy. You feel very alone, scared, confused and it is very difficult to get answers. No one really knows much about molar pregnancy, the majority of the public has never heard of this and you never get to talk to anyone who has experienced molar pregnancy first hand. I set out to write this blog to be that “real” person for others to talk to, ask questions and be as blunt and honest about my experiences and what I felt helped me. Molar pregnancy is not only about losing your baby, it is about possibly the tumors turning to cancer, patience while you wait for your levels to fall and stay negative for months, loneliness, confusion, dealing w/ the loss of your pregnancy, being there for your partner (your spouse–the man in your life is important and we can’t forget how difficult this is for him) & finally healing yourself and deciding to move forward and try again or just move forward in another direction. Anyway, I’m glad I am of help to you guys and hopefully to others and I am always here to listen, help, guide and just be a “real” person who learned a lot from my molar pregnancy experience.

So, my levels being negative is a huge excitement for me, my fiance, his family and my family. I told his parents tonight that I am still negative and don’t have to go back for a month now. They were almost as excited for me as they were when we first announced we were pregnant. Some other things that make me smile are the beautiful animals that crowd around our bird feeder on our front lawn. Here are a few pics. Look closely, black birds, finch, black squirrels, doves and even my favorite little chipmunk (who stays for hours). We have male and female cardinal and blue jay that stop by a lot as well. Oh yeah, snapped a pic at my in-laws of the Canada geese that have taken up residency there. They are so cute and a nice addition to their 18 acres. They just sit at the bird feeder in the front yard and snack all day. This makes me smile to see how happy they are and enjoying being the only 2 Canada geese on this property. They have their own playland and pond.

Also, it has rained here the last 4 days. We haven’t gotten outside much at all. It stopped raining for about 1.5 hours today. MG and I looked at each other and without having to say a word, put on our tennis shoes and went outside for a nice 3mile (5km) jog w/ 400 stairs. Aaaaahhhh….that felt amazing.

Here’s to a great day and an even better tomorrow!

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. A T and E T
    May 17, 2011 @ 06:49:22

    We are thrilled @ the negative count ! These are the things that are REALLY important!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    May 17, 2011 @ 09:52:50

    So glad to hear that you got good news. I had never heard of molar pregnancy before finding this blog and appreciate your bravery in sharing your story and shedding light on this.

    Like

    Reply

  3. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    May 17, 2011 @ 10:40:23

    Thank you very much! It has been tough, but it is so rare that you feel really alone. There is no one to talk to and none of the doctors have ever experienced it. I hope to help others and by sharing they feel a little less alone. Thank you for your kind words.
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

  4. Jenna @ Newlyweds
    May 23, 2011 @ 16:27:18

    That is awesome news, YEA for the negative!!!!

    My number’s last week were a 4 so I am hoping for a 1 or 2 this week, they are dropping so that is great news. Happy to hear you are doing so well.

    Like

    Reply

    • inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
      May 24, 2011 @ 00:29:01

      So glad to hear about your levels being at 4. You are very close and I am so happy for you. Are you on the same as myself? 3wks negative, 2 at every other week, then finally monthly? Great news! It is an amazing feeling to get below 5. Thanks for stopping by.
      Suzanne

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

