Practicing Patience….

I had to patiently wait to write about my four new blueberry bushes. I was so excited about them and I bought them last Thursday, planted them on Friday. I wanted to write all about it, but couldn’t. Why? Well, we bought MG’s mother 2 blueberry bushes for mother’s day (MG’s brother and wife went in with us as well for this purchase). If you remember I wrote about how badly I wanted blueberry bushes and how good they are for you (The Pro’s of Rain–May 1st, 2011). Well, now I have them, they are planted and ready to start growing. Patiently I will wait and watch as they grow. In fact, I have a lovely blueberry candle burning behind me right now. It smells just fantastic. I was so excited to purchase my four blueberry bushes. Not only can you only buy them in the spring here, but once they arrive, they are sold out very quickly. These are very healthy bushes, already 3ft tall. I just can’t wait until they start to sprout blueberries. I got 4 different kinds. I did not realize how many different types there are to purchase. There were about 6 or 7 different types of blueberries to pick from. So, I will have to let you know which is my favorite. Don’t know how long this will take.

After doing my exercises today I was so hungary. I made myself a Vega protein shake, but it just didn’t fill me up enough. I decided to bake some asparagus. It felt like forever to wait for this asparagus to be ready. Once it was….mmmmm….just so good. Just added a little salt and some pepper and ready to go. Out the door for work.  I am also enjoying my new Camelbak stainless steel water bottle. I love it b/c I can drink it in the car. You have a mouthpiece to drink from. You have to squeeze it between your teeth to get the water out. Therefore, I don’t show up everywhere w/ water dripping down the front of me. Not that MG is a bad driver, but he does like to make sudden stops or push the gas harder than normal at green lights. Maybe the joke is on me and he means to do this. Hmmmm????

Where I have learned my biggest amount of patience is through work. Selling real estate requires a lot of patience. I remember when I first started in the business, MG’s mother told us her biggest pet peeve. She said to NEVER think about your wallet. I really paid attention to this and took it to heart. I don’t want to be pushed, why would I do that to someone else. I can truly say that every house we have bought or sold, that the money I would be making was the last thing on my mind. We have not bought or sold anything that I didn’t fully believe was right for that client. This helps you sleep at night. It does mean that sometimes you spend a lot of time on things that will never come to fruition. This is where I have to step back and take a few deep breaths. See, for me it’s not about the money, it’s about knowing what is right for that client, getting it done and moving on to the next. I have done so many deals now that I can predict (most of the time) who is right for what home. Unfortunately, I can suggest things and make honest statements, but I can’t let my own opinions make decisions for my clients. I am going through a deal where I am working for the Buyer and Seller. I know these are the right buyers for this particular home. The deal is so close to be accepted w/ only a couple thousand dollars stopping it. I caught myself pushing my opinions on the sellers. I instantly stopped, admitted that I was applying my thoughts on them and backed off. They appreciated it, but didn’t think I was being pushy. I have decided to practice patience more often and let the cards fall where they may. Right or wrong, sometimes we all have to figure it out for ourselves. Sometimes we have to learn the hard way, but we always learn.

I’m terrible w/ patience, but life is throwing me curveballs that are teaching me to take it easy. Funny how the universe works. Red lights and slow drivers used to drive me nuts (well they still do), but I’m learning to take it for what its worth. Practice my patience until I can either make mind power change the light to green or find an opening to get around the driver. Look at what this past year has taught me. My mother’s mastectomy–waiting for surgery, healing, tumors tested. My molar pregnancy–wait for surgery, wait for levels to drop, wait at least 6 months after levels drop to try again. It’s all a lesson. At least, that’s how I’m looking at things. The universe is trying to teach me to slow down, relax, take it all in. It is and will be difficult, but I am trying to learn. I don’t want life to just pass me by in a whirlwind, I want to remember every step of the way.  We have to learn from the good and the bad times. Now, rather than read my inspiring words, try acting on them and make the first step to make yourself happier and appreciate the life you are given.

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Reluctant Momma
    May 10, 2011 @ 14:45:38

    I cant’ wait to see how your blueberry bushes turn out….I just wrote about Blueberries today too – but in a different way …my little sister is preggers and we call her baby the blueberry b/c that is how big it was when we found out….anyway –

    I am just getting into gardening and really looking forward to seeing how your bushes do:)

    and ps – the asparagus made me SO hungry!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    May 10, 2011 @ 18:53:08

    Why thank you. I’m going to take pics along the way and will say which flavor is the best. Definately get some blueberry bushes while your gardening. You can search on my blog, but I wrote some things about the blueberries, ie. how far to plant them apart, getting 2 bushes, benefits of blueberries.
    Also, the asparagus is amazing. Check out my nutrition tab on April 19th about the benefits of asparagus.
    Thanks for reading and commenting.
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

