American Girl Living a Canadian Life

Happy Mother’s Day!!! This goes to everyone from owners of animals, to mothers of humans and to the mothers, such as myself, that had complications.  Wishing you all a wonderful day. To my own mother: I miss you tons and hope to see you soon. Wish I could’ve been there with you today physically, but I’m always w/ you in my heart. I love you and hope you enjoyed your day. I will make it up to you once I see you. Please cherish your mothers, they gave us life.

As I mentioned yesterday, MG and I were enjoying a day/night away in Toronto. We did have a great night and got to see so many friends, share a ton of laughs and met some new friends. It was a nice break. Even though Toronto is only about an hour away, it was nice to be away. The draft went well and all the scouts had an amazing dinner, according to MG. The girls also had a great dinner at Ichiban Sushi in the Toronto Beaches area. What a cool area. It’s a mix of people, but I would say mostly young professionals. We had a wonderful time and the food was so delicious. Thank you girls for a wonderful time full of laughs and stories. Afterwards we met the guys back at one of their houses in the beaches area (love the home, love the decorations). By the way, this home owners’ mother and sister are amazing painters. Nice job w/ the baby’s room. I will hire you both to help paint my house.  Great time and thanks for hosting. It’s always at blast!

Today was off to a great start. We got to sleep in just a touch. Unfortunately, maid service was knocking on the door at 8:45am to clean, but we asked them to wait a while. Then, we grabbed quick bite to eat for breakfast and off for a little shopping in Toronto. We went to Queen St and I almost impulse bought everything. Thank goodness MG was w/ me or I would have spent all of the money we worked so hard for on Friday night. Stores and stores of cool, unique shoes, clothing, you name it. Then, of course there was a Lululemon. definitely picked up a couple of UNneeded items there. Oh well, pure delight and it does make me so happy to make purchases. MG snapped this pic w/ the CN Tower behind me on Queen ST. Hence, the title of this blog. Take a close look–all kinds of stores, CN Tower behind, Tim Horton coffee in hand, Lulu bag on wrist and my mala bead necklace. Phew! I feel like a true Canadian at this moment. The sun was shining, it was about 65F and just a lovely, perfect day! Also, we had 2 hours left on our parking ticket, so as we pulled out of our spot, we gave the person taking our spot our ticket. Remember, pay it forward. I always talk of small ways to make someone’s day. It is amazing how excited you get when you DON’T have to put money into a parking meter. That $2 ticket can seem like a free $100 bill at times.

Next, it was off to meet some wonderful friends of ours. We decided to meet at Starbucks and catch up over a wonderful hot coffee (tea for N). These 2 just moved to a new apartment and amazingly their balcony overlooks Starbucks. How much better does that get?  FYI–3-5pm until May 15th is happy hour at Starbucks w/ half priced frappuccinos. Yum, yum, snagged one yesterday! It was so nice to see these guys again. I don’t have to do my abs on the days I see them, they keep me laughing so hard. Thanks for squeezing into my pic, I know it wasn’t your ideal picture time.

Not done w/ this day yet. Off to MG’s sister’s for mother’s day. We had a bbq, played hockey w/ the kids, talked life, laughed a lot & ate amazing foods. Thank you for having us all to your house and what a great job you did. We always have a great time w/ MG’s family. You just never know what will happen next. Such fun, great time all around. Finished the night off w/ some real estate work and then went home for some much-needed rest.

Can’t believe how everything is blooming. Trees are in bloom, flowers, just can’t believe the change in just a few days. Just had to get a quick picture while we were driving. It just hit me that a couple of days ago, everything was bare. I’m getting really excited–loving spring. See, here in Ontario, Canada when the temp goes to around 60F, people are out on the patios, wearing flip-flops and t-shirts and enjoying the outdoors. I catch myself falling in to these traditions now. I even say “eh”. My American friends make sure to tease me about this. I still call a winter hat a toboggan, not a toque. So, as much American is still in me, I’ve noticed some changes to the Canadian way. I love it here and I always look forward to getting back home. It’s like they always say, everything in moderation. I walk the middle of staying American, but enjoying my new life as a Canadian.

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katherine: Unemployed
    May 09, 2011 @ 12:22:26

    I love Canada for all it has to offer but I don’t think I could do the cold! 60 degrees! my toes would be frozen in flip flops

    Like

    Reply

  2. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    May 09, 2011 @ 12:39:19

    Yes, my toes still get cold in 60, but it seems I’m the only one. I was one of a few w/ long sleeves on yesterday. Strange isn’t it?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

