The Pro’s of Rain…

Weather wise, not the best of days. It was just an ok day. Not too cold, just chilly and rain, lots of rain. For some reason, I don’t mind snow. Maybe b/c snow doesn’t generally make you soaking wet and it’s pretty. Rain on the other hand, no matter how covered you are, you always feel damp. Everything feels a bit dreary. In saying all of this, I enjoyed the rain. Yes, of course, it’s always a better day when the sun is shining, it’s about 75-80 degrees, you get to be outside taking in all the smells of nature, but can’t always be this way. We need rain. It’s so vital and I tend to forget how important the rain is to our everyday lives. It makes our flowers bloom, veggies grow, provides us with water and the list goes on. It was pretty to watch the rain fall. To see the squirrels cover themselves w/ their tails to prevent getting wet. The robins were running about in full force to find all the worms that come to the surface. If you allow yourself to enjoy the rain and take it in stride, it’s fascinating to see how things change. How the animals change. The way they eat, the time they eat, how they deal. Besides a bit of a cricky knee, I just watch the forecast to know the weather. Pay attention next time to what differences you notice when it rains.

Speaking of rain, I really want to get a blueberry bush in my backyard. Spring is the best time to plant blueberry bushes and you have to get 2 (male and female). That’s the only way they can live and thrive. Since I was indoors today I had time to research blueberry bushes and blueberries. What else is there to do in the rain? Went for a wonderful breakfast, grabbed some groceries and researched. My setup today was great! MG and I had our laptops on the table, looking out of our window to watch the bird feeder and hockey playoffs on the TV in the background. Can’t ask for much more! Back to the research on blueberries…Blueberries are so healthy: Neutralizes free radicals which can affect disease and aging in the body, aids in reducing belly fat, proven to preserve vision, breaks down “bad cholesterol” helps the heart, helps w/ brain health, aids constipation and digestion, prevents cancer, anti-depressant and more. Sounds like a delicious, nutritious treat. Only problem is that apparently the birds LOVE blueberries as well. Guess they know what’s good for them. 

I achieved a lot today. Got my real estate files done, HST paid, loads of computer work I needed to catch up on and cleaning. I am working on getting our real estate site up and going. As much as I love being on the computer, getting things in order, etc, it’s hard to get things done when it is too nice out. All I want to do is be outside. I even did a lot of reading on others blogs. You learn so much from others. Very interesting stuff. We picked up a lot of goodies to help us eat healthy during the week. We have to have things cut up, cooked and ready to go b/c we are on the road so much. It makes it so much easier to eat healthy when you have things ready to go and you keep mostly only healthy treats around. We have to be wise and have things ready to go. Enjoyed this magnificent greek salad tonight and it was sooooo tasty! Getting hungary? If not, you eat junk while out. Being vegetarian I can’t just stop at McDonald’s anymore. Actually, my health is much better since being vegetarian for that reason. I don’t eat that stuff anymore and it used to be a staple in my diet. I was the biggest junk food, fast food addict you’ve ever seen. Not anymore, thank goodness!

So, for me the rain was a blessing today. I actually enjoyed it. Can you see the pro’s of the rain now? Take the rain and make it your own good day. Not everyday has to “seem” perfect for it to actually “be” perfect. Just a dose of reality check I needed today. Maybe the sound of gentle rainfall outside my window tonight will put me to sleep. Night, night.

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. breathofsunshine
    May 02, 2011 @ 15:32:46

    Blueberries! YUM! I’m going to have to google it and see if they can grow in my area. We are in the middle of redoing our yard, and now that you mentioned it, I can’t think of anything better than blueberries!

    Like

    Reply

  2. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    May 02, 2011 @ 21:31:35

    Yes, definately check. They are so good for you and are pretty easy (from what I understand) to keep alive. Going to get mine tomorrow.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

