Floating On A Cloud

It’s rained here the last couple of days. So, I was so happy to get out and go for an 8km jog w/ 400 escarpment stairs. As I’ve mentioned before, we live near the escarpment. Here we say we live “on” the Mountain (like myself) or “below” the Mountain. Here’s a link to better explain the escarpment for those who don’t live here-http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niagara_Escarpment  We are so fortunate to have so many hiking trails, stairs, rail trail, etc.  There are many ways to exercise outside around here. We use the Bruce Trail constantly.  These stairs that you see me (right side pic) doing are near the end of our jog, so they are very tiring. After going down and back up these, we jog about 0.5km more to get to the next set of stairs (MG is seen here on left completing) to get us all the way back to the top of the escarpment. Then, it’s a nice, flat jog back home. Beautiful! It felt so good to get back outside to exercise today after a few days being couped up inside.

It is amazing how much better you feel after doing some exercise! All of us exercise for different lengths, different forms, etc. I just feel that if you can make yourself get up and do something (walking, running, yoga, pilates, elliptical, kickboxing, whatever) for at least 30 mins a day or more, you feel so much better. It makes you feel happier (endorphins), more positive, more giving, healthier, maybe some weight loss or toning. It’s just vital. Your self-esteem is better. Exercise of any kind just makes you feel good overall.  Sometimes it is so difficult to get off the couch or find time for yourself, but get motivated b/c after you will get twice as much done. Well, enough of that, but I suggest you do something. Try to get outside to get the extra benefit of Vitamin D3, a cancer preventing vitamin.

I got my HcG levels back today and they are less than one again! I am so elated right now. I feel like I’m floating. So, this is week 3 for me of being negative (one or less), so I get to skip bloodwork next week. I still get to jog to the hospital b/c my oncologist still wants me to go through w/ my CT scan, but that’s ok, no bloodwork and I get to combine my appointment w/ my exercise. Perfect.

Today, we were able to catch up on some office work, phone calls, etc. Then, we were off to list a house and do an offer on another.  Afterwards we went to meet up w/ some friends at West Town–a cute pub. LB is the one responsible for getting me in to playing women’s hockey. It was around this time last year that I met her and she coaxed me to come out and play. MG had only taught me to skate on his parents pond and I had never picked up a stick or puck. She promised we were all beginners. That was somewhat true, but she is a way better player than she owned up to. I remember my first game, MG and I went that day to get all my equipment and then he had to teach me how to put it all on before I went that night. Oh well, had it not been for her, I would never have played and now I love it. I’m still not very good, but I got a couple goals this year. Do things that scare you. I did!

 

 

This tops off a perfect day! We left the bar and right outside the door, was this adorable dog in the scooter waiting for his owner to come back. Such a perfect dog and so loyal. He was not leaving the scooter.

Then, I went home to check my e-mail just to find out that I won a black onyx (strength and wisdom–both I need) from August Empress.  Yeah!

 

 

 

“Make it a Great Day–Go Inspire!”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Ride To Conquer Cancer! « Inspiring Life–Inspiring YOU!

Leave a Reply

