Be Assertive!

It’s Wednesday, so that means I’m heading to the oncologist for bloodwork, but I couldn’t jog to the appointment today. Bit of a bummer. It is raining a lot outside. I don’t mind running in the rain, but it was just too much. Plus, I have to go to a listing right after. That meant I had to do my exercises indoors today. Oh well, it’s good. Makes me do different exercises b/c once the weather starts to get nice, I want to be outside. We’ve had a taste of spring here and there and all of our snow is completely gone! Thought I would show a real pic of me getting my needle. I no longer need a lollipop and after all the needles I’ve had to get, I don’t get too upset as long as I look away and MG talks to me.

I still can’t believe all that has gone on with me this year. Occassionally, I stop to pinch myself b/c you get so used to the routine you forget what has really happened. My whole life is different, turned upside down in 365 days. I have found myself just floating through the last couple of days.  I wanted to mention this b/c I don’t float, I do. I’m assertive. I ask for things, confront and make changes when need be.

Being assertive is very important. Some have difficulty with this. I never have. I don’t mind speaking up or saying what’s on my mind. If I have a problem w/ someone, I address it. We don’t have to end up as friends, but I don’t like to assume and possibly be incorrect, so I address it. It’s important for healing as well. People tend to let things go and then hold a grudge. If we just communicate, not only will you feel better (get it off your chest), but you may have been incorrect. A simple misunderstanding. Now doesn’t it suck when you waste a lot of energy on something or someone and it wasn’t even a problem in the first place. This goes for friendships, relationships, even someone you don’t know. Don’t let something weigh on you, address it.

Thank goodness for assertion. I found out about my molar pregnancy b/c I pushed. I was told all was fine, nothing was wrong, I didn’t need an ultrasound. I finally just said, I know my body and something isn’t right. Please book me for an ultrasound.  They finally agreed.  Fortunate b/c I found out when I was 11wks along that my pregnancy needed to end. Otherwise, I could have been 18-20 wks along. Now that would have been way worse. My body wasn’t flushing anything out or fixing the issue on its own, so we would not have been alarmed by anything. 

My mom, during her breast cancer treatments was not getting anwers from her doctors. I would talk to her and she would just say she didn’t know or no one would call her back. This went on for at least a week. I became annoyed, so I called her doctor and explained that I was her daughter, living in Canada, she was in NC and I needed answers. Not only did the doctor call me back that day, he called my mom and apologized. He told her that until I brought it to his attention, he didn’t realize how much they put people off. See doctors are so used to their job, they forget we don’t deal with these things every day. They need to “hold our hands” sometimes.

My point, help yourself and others by speaking up. No need to be rude or negative. Just communicate. A lot of problems and negativity can be resolved w/ simple communication. Use your time and energy for good. Change someone’s day for the positive, help them. Sometimes we float and need to be told if we arent’ treating someone right. We all need to be reminded sometimes that life is passing us by, we need to make the most of it and not waste time on misunderstandings or being frustrated when all we had to do was be a bit more assertive! Try it! Then, leave me a comment to let me know how it worked out for you.

“Make it a Great Day–Go Inspire!”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laury
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 11:59:49

    Hey Suzanne,

    You are such a strong woman. You are so right about communication and speaking up. And I also believe we all know our bodies and HAVE to be our own advocates! You are very inspiring, lots of hugs!

    Like

    Reply

  2. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 14:33:05

    Hello Suzanne,

    Thank you so much for your kind words, they were a lovely surprise! The kiwi jasper mala looks exceptionally beautiful and I’m glad to know it was helpful in guiding you through such a difficult time. I’m really looking forward to stopping by your blog ~ many thanks for the invitation.

    Namaste,
    Jennifer

    Like

    Reply

    • inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
      Apr 21, 2011 @ 14:35:40

      Very welcome! I do enjoy reading and it sounds like you are living the perfect life. The lovely words you had to say re: your relationship of 13 yrs was beautiful. If you get a chance, take a look and me know your thoughts. I look forward to reading more as you write!
      Suzanne

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

