Happiness….Why Some and Not All?

On a side note, please check out my tab “nutrition”. I wrote about the importance of asparagus. It is amazing how much goodness there is in asparagus and it does have cancer fighting agents, which I feel may have helped my HcG levels drop. I eat a lot of asparagus and I love it. Stay tuned for some delicious, easy asparagus recipes under “recipes” tab.

So, my in-laws celebrated their 42nd wedding anniversary yesterday. They have 4 wonderful children from this marriage. I was with them for a bit just before they went to celebrate.  They went to Lick’s for their anniversary dinner. They said we celebrate all the time, we don’t need to go somewhere fancy, this is perfect for us tonight. Wow!

Marriage is never perfect.  If you ask them, I’m sure they would tell you about the ups and downs.  I never see any downs w/ them, but in 42 years you learn a lot about one another.  I started to ponder on why some make it work, but so many others don’t. My grandparents were married for 67 years, they even made it through the war.  Amazing!

When I was little, it was strange to hear of someone’s parents NOT being together. Now, it seems strange if someone’s parents ARE still together.

I thought about other animals that are supposed to mate for life. If animals can do it, shouldn’t we be able to? I began to search out which animals mate for life. There are 3% of 4,000 mammals, but they stay together til death. Maybe we could learn a little something from animals. 

Pictured here are Gibbons, the nearest relatives to humans that mate for life.  Some other mammals are: Beavers, otters, bats, wolves, some foxes, a few hoofed animals.

I do believe it is possible to find someone you connect w/ and make the choice to be with them and only them.  I do think we’ve lost respect of what it means to be in a relationship. I’ve been engaged for 3yrs, we’ve been dating for a total of about 7 yrs, but not sure if we will get married. I feel we share everything already, I’m not sold that I need the wedding to ensure that we love each other. Yes, religiously, marriage is what is appropriate. Although, all the people who feel that I should marry due to religious matters don’t look at the other side. A lot of them have divorced.  The church definately frowns on divorce. Why can’t we live happily together w/ or w/o that special piece of paper, which in turn costs anywhere from $30,000 and up?  I don’t have all the answers to this, but I will marry or not marry based on what “we” choose to do.

I think we as humans have to be more diligent to respect others relationships. This is part of helping others and doing the right thing.  I don’t agree with these websites that offer “affair dating”. What does it say about our society when people are paying to cheat secretly. So, there’s a company that takes your money and sets up dates discreetly so that you can cheat on your spouse.  What’s the point in having a spouse?  I think if you need to experiment, get out of your current relationship.  It’s not appropriate for anyone’s self esteem.  The one cheating must have issues w/ themselves if they are looking for encouragment elsewhere and the one being cheated on, well obviously that will hurt their self esteem.

I’m not sure what the answer is. I think if you are true to yourself meaning that you get to know who you really are, likes dislike, what you would like in someone, etc, you will be better off. We should not spend our lives needing to find a mate.  We should look at qualities in ourselves.  If you happen to meet someone that will add more positive qualities to our lives things will be stronger. So, first be happy with yourself, enjoy being alone. The special someone will fit in once you are open and ready.

By the way, I’m not suggesting that you leave the relationship you are in, nor do I think you should stay in an unhappy relationship. My whole point is if you’re happy w/ yourself when you meet that certain addition to your life, you’ll know what you need and what works for you. This will help give you the strength to work through the downs which every relationship will have. This is what it is . We have to respect our own relationships and others relationships, make the choice to do the right thing and prepare yourself to fight hardest during the worst times.

My fiance and I have grown stronger through this past year. The rough times have made us fight harder for the things we want and really appreciate. Do not sweat the small stuff. I realized during this picture how important he is in my life. All he was doing was putting up a sign, but in this moment it clicked, he’s the yin to my yang and it works! I stopped to think about how hard we’ve had to work this year to pull each other through. Thank you!

 

 

 

“Make it a Great Day–Go Inspire!”

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 18:44:46

    Hey Suzanne,

    I wasn’t sure how to reply to your message so I thought I would just send you the email. I totally agree with finding the right one. I have! And, I truly believe that I am so lucky and blessed to have him in my life. We have been together (as you know) for almost 19 years. I have always said that he is my soulmate – my bershette! He is my everything and because of him I have had the strength to overcome so much. I don’t think I would of made it through my heartbreaks without him and to that I thank him and love him. Love is a gift – cherish it, feel it, share it!

    Your friend,

    Karen
    PS. Doesn’t it feel great kickin JST’s butt!

    Like

    Reply

  2. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 18:46:05

    I couldn’t agree more. It’s amazing how you look around and people seem to be happier around other’s that they aren’t in a relationship with. I find this troubling.
    Yes, felt great to beat them!
    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

