Motivation…When the Mind Says Go, but the Legs Say No!

I woke up on this nice, sunny Sunday morning feeling happy.  Happy doesn’t always mean you want to jump out of bed and go for a run.  Happy sometimes means, I want to enjoy more time in my wonderful Tempurpedic bed. I was feeling a bit lazy and that is ok. Only problem, no time to sleep in today.  I needed to get out of bed, go for a jog, do yoga, eat breakfast, shower and get ready to be at my Open House by 1:40pm. 18" x 24" Poly Tent Open House Directional Sign Unit - Custom Imprint After the open house we have to head straight to the hockey tryouts and then I’m meeting clients to list their house and do an offer on another house. Phew! That sounds like a lot now that I’m writing it. Also, little did I know what a crazy weather day it was going to be. Yes, when I woke up it was sunny.  It had snowed briefly already. It would do this all day long. It would snow a few minutes, then snow pellets, then sun. Occassional rain here and there.  It was weird. Oh well, we had a lot of weather systms all in one day.

Anyway, I went for a 6km jog. My mind thought I should go or I’d feel guilty about it later.Doing exercises always makes me feel so much better the rest of the day.  My body on the other hand, was not agreeable w/ my mind. This was the worst I have felt on a jog in a very long time. Do you ever have those moments where from step one it is a challenge?  Every step today was a struggle. Cardio. Legs. Cramps. The works. It all felt rough today. I pushed through, did one of my normal routes and my time wasn’t really any worse. By the way, at the end of my jog to get back up the escarpment you have 400 stairs to climb. They go straight up. This got me thinking about motivation.  What motivates us?

My motivation used to be very different. I think this is a good thing. It seems the more I live the more my motivations, wants, drive all change.  Interesting! When I was tiny, I was motivated by pleasing my family, lollipops and oreos. A bit older, I was motivated by getting a piercing, going out or driver’s license. Then, it turned to graduating high school and university to start a real career and stop working at deli’s, cafe’s, etc.  Up until this last year I was motivated by money, material things and Lululemon.  MG actually still motivates me to finish a deal and I can get a Lulu article of clothing guilt free.  Since all of the life changes this year I’ve been writing about (losing both my dogs, my mom’s masectomy, my molar pregnancy) my motivations have changed. The only one that hasn’t changed is the desire to make my family proud. I am so close w/ my family and what they think always matters.  I am always motivated by hearing my mom and dad tell me I’m doing well or they are proud of me. That will never change. The LuluLemon thing will probably never change either.

What did change?  I no longer feel the “need” for material things.  I have worked my butt off trying to get this blog up and going.  I am not profiting from this at all.  The only motivation here is trying to reach out to others.  I have been through so much this year and I feel that I’ve learned so much. I’ve learned what really matters. Money helps of course, but I really want to reach people in a positive way.  I have received so many kind e-mails, comments about how I’ve inspired them or helped change their way of thinking.  That is TRUE motivation.  I write every night b/c I know I am getting to others.  It has become very important to help others get up, get motivated. Oh, and this view from our balcony in Mexico motivates me. Can’t wait to go back!

 I want to hear what gets you up and going, what motivates you.  I feel the easy way out of any situation is to sit on the couch, stay in your house, hide from everything and everyone. No matter how we feel or what is going on in our lives, we need to get out, move, experience.  We learn from the bad.  Everything happens for a reason and something positive will come out in the end.  Through this year w/ all the rough times I’ve had, there is always a silver lining. I wouldn’t be doing this blog, I wouldn’t know how much I could overcome. These rough times all have lessons and I’m learning. Now, stop reading and get up and GO!

Motivation to pick up a tree!

 

 

 

“Make it a Great Day–Go Inspire!”

Leave a Reply

