Beta Carotene and Vitamin D!

Today was a perfect day! The weather was sunny, a bit too windy, and not too hot or cold.  My kind of weather.  I like it when you can wear shorts or pants, short sleeves or a light jacket, such as my fav Lululemon Stride jacket.  Side tracked b/c I’m dying for Lulu to get their online store up and running again, but my bank account is happy. Anyway, it’s the kind of day that begs for you to go out and enjoy it and soak up all your Vitamin D.  Vitamin D is so important, but don’t take it in the supplement form. Go get it naturally.  Try to find some time in your day, get off the couch, off the computer, out of your office or whatever your excuse may be and GET OUTSIDE!   Here’s a little info re: how important to get OUT! 

The Importance of Vitamin D

Vitamin D is important in many ways. Vitamin D helps maintain bone density, healthy bone growth and helps maintain the normal functioning of the nervous system. It is crucially important in aiding the body’s absorption of calcium. Without sufficient vitamin D, calcium supplements are almost useless. Vitamin D insufficiency is a contributing factor of osteoporosis, as calcium absorption cannot be maximized. It has also been found that having a higher intake of vitamin D can help lower certain cancer risks, such as breast, prostate and colorectal cancer.

On another note, the right amount of beta carotene is important.  It is not scientific, but I’ve noticed over and over again in all my research re: molar pregnancies that women who are low in protein, folate, or beta-carotene seem to have these types of pregnancies more often.  Beta Carotene helps prevent night blindness and other eye problems, skin disorders, enhance immunity, protects against toxins and cancer formations, colds, flu,  infections, asthma, arthritis and infertility. It is an antioxidant and protector of the cells while slowing the aging process. Any natural anti-aging substance is certainly something I’m in for. Now you’re thinking, this sounds like something I need to make sure I eat every day. Where to get it and how much?  Here’s your answer: carotenes are responsible for most orange in fruits and vegetables, such as carrots, pumpkins and sweet potatoes. Other great sources of beta-carotene include dark green and orange-yellow vegetables, such as carrots, sweet potatoes, squash, spinach, broccoli, romaine lettuce, apricots, and green peppers. Sounds so yummy! Beta carotene is not an essential nutrient, but is turned into Vitamin A in our bodies, which is an essential nutrient.  Need 10-30mg a day. Go eat some fruits and veggies.  Check out my recipe for Sweet Potatoes the way we do them down South.

I got up early today and did my exercises, had my hot lemon water on an empty stomach, then had breakfast.  Of course, I had my beautiful coffee, it is my one vice.  Actually, reports are starting to favor drinking coffee for health reasons, but I have about 3 cups a day. Not sure the reports would suggest that.  Anywho, I love coffee, so I drink it. Life is too short to give up everything. I eat right (most of the time), work out and do for others. 

I then was off to Brampton, ON to see my niece in her hockey tournament. She did so great and we had so much fun watching her.  MG and I bought her a new hockey stick for her bday last Sunday and she loves it. Think that’s why she’s playing so well.  She is on a select hockey team, so you have to be pretty good, you have to try out.  She’s only 7, but her mother is a phenomenal player who coaches, plays on men’s fun league teams, etc. My 7 yr old niece is a better hockey player than me, but I’ll blog about that another day. They won that game! Here’s a victory pic:

On the way home, I tried to stop in Oakville to visit Lululemon and my fav new jewelry store Bluboho www.bluboho.com, but couldn’t today. MG reminded of how terrible traffic is on the QEW at 5pm on a Friday night.

We headed home to get ready for our offer.  The offer went better than expected.  Our Buyer was really low, but the property is overpriced.  I thought the Seller’s would just walk, but they signed it back pretty fairly.  We will be working on this offer for a while.  Right up my alley.  I like to work for my clients.

Then, MG had a game and I always love going to see his games. Lots of fun, they won! It’s nice.  I go see his games and he always watches my soccer and hockey games.

So, here’s to a great day.  See you tomorrow!

“Make it a Great Day–Go Inspire!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennifer
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 10:09:25

    This sounds like a fantastic day! I appreciate the information on Vitamin D and Beta Carotene. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

  2. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 12:04:42

    It was! Glad you enjoyed the info and thanks for writing.
    Suzanne Williams

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

