It’s Been A Month? Time Flies!

I took a look at my blog page for the first time yesterday in a long time. I was surprised to see that my last entry was a month ago. Where does time go? I was amazed at how many of you are still reading and checking in w/ me to see if I’ve posted again. So, thanks to all of you and I will try to be better.

First came my little red merle

Two weeks later my little blue merle boy was 8 wks old and ready to come home…

So, what has been keeping me busy…..well, these 2 boys. After the loss of our previous 2 Australian Shepherds we took about a year to heal. For us, we needed this time. Unfortunately, we have a lot of friends and aquaintances we see on our hiking trail every day who have also lost pets (family members to all of us). Some need to find a new member of the family immediately, some have waited 15 yrs to make the addition. For MG and I it was a year. He nor I spoke of getting a new pup for a long time. I train in obedience and agility and do some herding, so I always have my eyes on breeders that I like. I do a lot of research before I decide on a breeder, pup, etc. So, I had been researching for when we were ready, I would be up to date w/ what was going on in the Aussie world. Well, a few months back MG brought up that he wanted a pup, he missed the friendship and happiness that dogs bring to our lives. Even though I had been researching, I thought it would be a couple of years before I made the addition. I just never really let myself think of it. I still hurt, miss and think of Stryker and Tazz every day. It hasn’t gotten easier and I have realized it just never will. I will never get over losing them. Once MG mentioned it, I started thinking. At first, I wasn’t sure I was ready, then it really grew on me. I began to look inside myself and realize the sadness and lack of life I had. This is because we are DOG people. We need them and love them.

Fast forward a bit and I fell in love w/ 2 breedings. We bagan to look at the option of getting 2 pups at the same time. I liked this b/c we travel, sit on patios, go for visits, etc a lot. I don’t want to have a dog that is 3yrs old, perfect and trustworthy and start all over w/ a pup. I would rather have 2 that are close in age, but once they are trustworthy, they both are. So, that’s what we did. They are 2 wks apart in age. One is from here in Canada (Orillia) and the other is from Michigan. We love them. Funny thing is that both have important meanings and I wasn’t looking for this at all. My oldest (11 wks today) is from Pink Ribbon Kennels and she named her kennel this b/c of her mother’s struggle w/ breast cancer. As you know, my mother survived breast cancer a year ago. My youngest (9wks old yesterday) was born on 9/11. This was the 10 yr anniversary of the 9/11 event. Obviously I’m an American, so this date is very significant. Ironinc? Maybe.

Anyway, my life is full w/ 2 bundles of joy and we could not be happier. I could use more sleep, but these boys are pretty perfect. We now get up at 6am everyday and stay up until at least midnight (I’m a real estate agent–we work all the time). Fortunately, if MG and I do decide to have children, this is a great warm up to prepare us. Get ready, you will be getting a lot of pics and stories about these 2 Australian Shepherds. It is never a boring day around here.

At least someone around here gets some sleep….

“Make It A Great Day–Go Inspire!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennifer h
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 21:53:31

    congratulations on your two new pups ~ they are so dear!

    Reply

  2. Suzanne Williams
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 09:06:36

    Thank you very much! We are all having an amazing time together.
    Suzanne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

